top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiya

When Wishes Come True

Do you have wish lists? I mean who doesn’t? One of the items on my list was meeting an author in person. Just like most of the others on my list, this also seemed far from coming true.


Then, one day my mom announced, we are going to the BICFEST this weekend. I imagined a funfair with rides, games and lots of treats. I was in for it. Who won’t? So came the weekend, and we were off to the venue. At the sight of the Bangalore International center building, I was confused. When I was handed over the programme chart, I knew I was totally mistaken.



This was not rides and candies. The fest had many workshops for kids about various things related to literature. Sessions on cartooning, story-telling, author sessions were listed in the chart. I was super excited and my excitement reached heights when I saw the evening session. It was a session with Author Roopa Pai. I had read and re-read her books and I couldn’t believe I will be meeting her in person.


Session after session everything seemed to go in a blur. Finally, it was time for her session and I saw Roopa Pai walking into the room. She was very different from what I had imagined. She was humorous, witty and super-cool. I was in awe of her personality. The session was on her book ‘Vedas and Upanishads’. This was a different genre from her previous books that I had read. Mythology to me was something grandmas were interested in. Pretty old gen. I have always heard from others that history is boring. And now I was in a session which had both! I still counted myself lucky to get this chance to listen to her.




The way she did the introduction aroused my curiosity. As the session progressed, I found myself being more interested in the subject. She had made it very interactive and I found my hands always up. Sometimes to answer questions and mostly to ask doubts. She was patient to answer every question and encouraged each one of us who made an effort to put a point forward.


Sometimes the answers were not right, repetitive at times, but still, she was never agitated like our teachers in school. The way she explained about our history, Indus valley civilization and the way the Vedas and Upanishads could have evolved, I found it interesting and I was able to understand it immediately. Then I realised that it was not history and mythology which was boring, it was the way it is told. There is mystery and clues in it just like a detective novel. Maybe more.


I love her books and the way she writes. She makes complex things simple, understandable and interesting. I could get my books signed by her too.




The session changed me into a history buff and I don’t mind Mythology any more. Now I am looking forward to the other wishes in my list. Nothing is impossible you know.


Till we meet next, it is bye from Diya. Do get in touch with me on Instagram or drop me an email.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page