top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiya

Lunch Drive and Vintage Collection

Road trips…… They are something I love the most. And this is about one of our road trips.


RRRRRR………… went my stomach. We were on the way to Mysore for a bit of exploring. And as usual, I was feeling hungry as I do often when we are traveling. “Mom I am hungry!!” I whined from the backseat. “Okay Diya. We will find a place to pull over” said, my mom. That’s when I noticed something out the window on the road.

It had huge gates, a lovely palace-like feeling, and a water fountain. That’s when my dad noticed it too, “How about Poojari’s Fish Land?” he asked. Okay, came the response from the passenger seat in the front. So we pulled over.

The place was magnificent, more than what I saw from the road. It had

miniature cacti and bonsai garden, bronze bells, huge statues made of stone and bronze which were placed in a way it appeared like they were welcoming you in. But that was not what caught my eye……… It was the way the restaurant building was. Unlike most restaurants, this one was separated into different house-like structures. With their red roofs and golden lining, they were ornate like palaces. Each a little away from another and a pathway leading to them.

We went into one of them and again I was awestruck, the walls were painted with scenes of the sea, beach, and life around it. The restaurant serves Mangalorean food and these wall paintings represent the seaside town very well. The ceiling had little lamps one over each table too. We chose a cozy table and sat down.

Based on the recommendation of the person who came to take our orders, I chose neer dosa which is a Mangalorean specialty along with prawn gravy. We also ordered some fried Anjal fish ( kingfish) for starters. While we were waiting for the waiter to bring our order ( he was pretty quick ), my dad told me more about Mangalore, a coastal town in southern Karnataka. I quickly added it to the mental wishlist of places I want to visit.

Once the food arrived, I started to dig in. It was heaven. I don’t think I have tasted such amazing seafood ever. The restaurant is known for its non-vegetarian dishes but they serve vegetarian food too. Their food quality is pretty good as well. We had gulab jamoon for dessert and lemonade as a drink to go with our food.

After we finished our meal we stepped out to see the grand display of vintage cars and bikes they have. The collections were opposite to each other. There also was a cubicle where they had cows. I even saw a little calf who was playing with its mother. That was an adorable sight.

We all loved the place so much that we have decided to go there again. If you do get a chance then do go there. It is amazing.


Till I meet you next, with another interesting experience, it is bye from Diya.

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page