top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiya

The Unexpected Vacation

Like most kids around, I was also preparing for my final exams (well sort of). A sudden trip saw me and my books board the back seat of the car as we headed off to my grandparents' place in Kerala for a couple of days. Unlike my usual visits, everyone reminded me of my exams this time and passed on the boring advice to study. How unKool.




I packed my backpack and set the alarm for 4 in the morning. "We have to drive back early morning to Bangalore, sleep well and don't be cranky when I call you tomorrow morning", I heard mom saying this before I drifted off to sleep. My extremely punctual alarm woke me up at 4 o'clock sharp as I groggily turned in my bed.



The first thing my mom tells me is that ..... Exams Are Cancelled!!!!!!! At first, I thought maybe she was pulling a prank on me (hey, my fun-loving mom is capable of that) or maybe she used that idea to wake me up because after that I was completely awake. I kept telling her "c'mon mom, you are kidding me" over a million times and she is like no I am serious, I even have proof.


I believed this piece of news only after I saw the text from school with my own two eyes. I kept pinching myself to make sure it wasn't a dream. Once it sunk in I for sure was doing cartwheels in my head. I mean who would not do that when the dreadful exams are called off. Add in this gleeful two weeks to your summer break and you've got yourself one relaxing super vacation. Wow, talk about vacation... I'm already on cloud nine.


Me and my friends were initially thankful to COVID-19 for these extra vacations once I was back in Bangalore. But of course, we brushed that thought away. COVID surely is a monster troubling the human race. Once the situation became worse, we were all confined to our homes. Safety for sure comes first and so we stayed indoors. First, it was sort of okay, but doing the same activities on repeat mode and not seeing a new human face can be terrible. And in this way, I saw my dream vacation plans crumble before my eyes.




All of us are at home. I assume you are also as bored as me. Here are a few tips from me to find some fun while in quarantine.

  1. Play some games with your family. They are anyways home and are saving some travel time. Ask them to share some game ideas they played as kids, you never know, they might be fun!

  2. Help in disinfecting your house. I tried my hand on dusting and washing my plate. My experience was amazing. I did feel like a grown-up girl.

  3. Learn to cook. This vacation I am trying to perfect my cooking skills and learn to cook a few new simple dishes. I love to flaunt my dishes during the weekend lunch.

  4. Try decorating your room. Stick your art pieces on the wall or door, hang your crafts and experiment a bit with the decor.

  5. Start a new hobby or learn a craft. I am going to try making some jewellery using the supplies my mom has. I did make a few flower brooches using a knitting kit.

Let me know how you are killing time being at home? I will post pictures of my activities on my Instagram account. Do check them out and give me a thumbs up if you like them.

Till I meet you next, it is bye from Diya. Stay home and stay safe.

87 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page