top of page
  • Writer's pictureDiya

Gangsta Granny - Book Review

We all have grandparents who love us and we love them too, while some of us don’t really express it.


Gangsta Granny is a novel written by David Williams and illustrated by Tony Ross. It is about a young boy, Ben, who is under the impression that his granny is the most boring person in the world. His granny, knowing this, wants to make Ben change his mind.



Granny tells him the secret! That she is an international jewel thief. She tells him that she is on her next mission that’s tough and needs help to complete it. Ben gets excited as expected and persuades her to take him along on the mission.


I picked this book as part of the Kahaani box reading challenge. The reason I chose this book was a mention of it in one of the issues of Tinkle. I have been wanting to lay my hands on it since then.


The cover page was totally fitting the theme, it looked mischievous with the duo carrying sacks filled with jewels, wearing ski masks.

The lead character is Ben, the young 11-year-old. I like his naughty side and his almost determined attitude.


The central idea is the efforts Ben’s granny took to make his visits fun and thrilling. She did it to change his mindset about her and get him to be excited about her and express his love to her.


This story leaves me with the lesson I would keep with me. No matter how crazy, weird, or boring some grandparents appear to be, they still love their grandchildren to bits.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page